Catastrophe — Season 2

They’re baaaaack. Yes, Sharon Horgan and Rob Delaney are back for seconds for season two of Amazon’s Catastrophe and I couldn’t be happier and sadder at the same time. Once I started the second season, I realized how much I had missed these two main characters and their collection of strange, bewildering secondary players. Just six episodes in, and approximately three hours later, BOOM. Season two is over. Ensue sadness. I want more more more.

A clever plot twist that I wasn’t expecting, however, was the time jump. Instead of picking up where we left off at season one’s “My water just broke” cliffhanger, we start here with a pregnancy (how tricky of them!) and birth of their second child. So we’re now about three years ahead from where we last saw them. Somehow Sharon and Rob have managed to not berate each other too badly and are thus still, sometimes barely, holding it together. It’s a smart way to keep the basic premise of this show from feeling stale, and luckily for the audience we reap all the benefits with bundles of laughs and TMI-worthy dialogue (but in a good way, of course).

Lastly, I do have a confession. I’m in love with something in this show. The first season I was too shy to admit it, but the second season solidified my feelings. I am in love with Sharon’s wardrobe. Unequivocally, utterly-obsessed with it. She pulls off that last-minute, but totally put together look that I completely envy (yes, I know, she didn’t actually just roll out of bed like that). She mixes bold patterns and textures, and has the confidence to do so. Plus, the show wisely reuses items. It’s just ALL so realistic that I am so in love. If anyone can tell me where I can get her purple (flowery? leopard?) sweater, I will love you too. Even more so if you tell me it won’t cost me my future first-born child.

catastrophe3

She’s concentrating hard because she knows how good she looks.

 

catastrophe2

Look how much fun she’s having because of that shirt she’s rockin’.

catastrophe4

She’s a grown-ass woman and can wear poppy-themed rompers whenever she pleases.

catastrophe5

It’s bold. It’s professional. It’s sexy. And she matches her glass of wine.

catastrophe

She’s hungover and looks fan-freakin-tastic.

Leave a Reply

