George Michael’s Impeccable Taste in Parkas

In light of the previous post, I will vouch that the best Christmas song is, without question, Wham!’s ‘Last Christmas.’ Heck, maybe even one of the best songs. No other song captures that longing for an old flame to see you better off with someone else, yet at the same time you yearn for them and what you miss. There is something about the way George Michael sings that pulls at my heartstrings. Maybe it helps that I feel like I’ve lived this song (well, I think that helps in making any song that much more relatable and powerful). The song is so bittersweet, which I’ve witnessed as I get older, is a more and more appropriate summation of the holidays. At least when you’re single, anyway. Huzza!

 

A few notes on the video:

-May be one of the best songs, but may be one of the most anticlimactic music videos?

-It defines the 80s. The hair. The fashion. Gondolas. Everything about it.

– Why would that lady give up Georgie’s irresistible good looks? Oh wait, right…

-I want to be a guest at that Apres Ski party! Who’s with me?!

Leave a Reply

